## Professorial Board Committees

The following committees have been elected by the Professorial Board:

Audio Visual Aids, Professor G.A. Knox, Professor P.J. Lawrence, Professor H.J. Simpson, Professor D.C. Stevenson, Librarian, Mr B.D. Jamieson, Mr D.V. Sims.

Computer Facilities, Professor B.R. Penfold, Professor J.H. Andreae, Professor A.D. Brownlie, Dr G.J. Fraser, Mr B.J. Clarke, The Director, Com-

puter Centre (ex officio).

Discipline, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (ex officio) deputy Professor H.J. Simpson, Professor W.B. Johnston (Professor T.E. Carterl, Professor R.A. Caldwell (Professor R. Park), President, Students' Association (Women's Vice-President).

Educational Policy, Pro-Rector (ex officio), Professor R.A. Caldwell, Professor P.J. Lawrence, Dr R.W. Hopkins (Mr W. Cotton – until February 1972), Dr G.V. Orange, Dr T.J. Seed, Mr A.J. Bisley, Mr W.H. Bowen, Mr S.S.P. Hamilton, C.U.S.A. Education Officer (ex officio).

Drafting, Professor J.L. Ryan, Pro-Vice-Chancellor,

Exclusion, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (ex officiol), Liaison Officer (ex officio), Professor J.M. Soons (co-opted member), Dr J.F. Burrows, Dr M.H.G. Munro, Dr P.J., Perry, Mr W.H. Bowen, Mr F.G. Tay.

Extension Studies, Professor W.B. Johnston, Pro-Rector (ex officio), Professor A.A. Conway, Professor F. Devonport, Dr J.C. Scrivener.

Library, Professor J.C. Garrett, Professor A.M. Kennedy (Acting Chairman until October 1971), Professor A. A. Conway, Professor R.L.C. Pilgrim Mr T.G. Tay, Librarian (ex officio).

Orientation Week, Professor J.A. Ritchie, Dr R.W. Hopkins, Dr G.J. Wright.

Publications, Professor B.G. Wybourne, Professor W.B. Johnston, Professor G.W.O. Woodward, Dr M.P. Hartshorn, Mr A.N. Brooks (Editor).

Research and Leave, Deputy Chairman, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Pro-Rector, Professor A.A. Conway, Professor H.J. Hopkins, Professor A.G. McLellan, Professor J.L. Ryan.

Safety, Deans of the Faculties of Science and Engineering, Heads of Departments (or deputies) of all departments in the Faculties of Science, Engineering, Music and Fine Arts, and Forestry, Dr G. Gray, Mr D. Johns, Mr W.D.H, Smith, Student Representative.

Standing, Deputy Chairman (ex officio), Pro-Vice-Chancellor (ex officio). Dean of Arts (ex officio). Dean of Science (ex officio), Dean of Engineering (ex officio), Professor F. Devonport, Professor J.L. Ryan, Professor B.G. Wybourne.

Timetable, Dr J. Austin (Convener)
Dean of Faculties, or their nominees.

Television, Professor J.L. Ryan, Professor P.J. Lawrence, Professor H.J. Simpson, Dr F.M. Harding, Mr A.J. Bisley, Mr I.G. Clark, Mr B.W. Smyth, Mr A. Stockwell.

## Personal

Council expressed its congratulations to the Chancellor, who was awarded an O.B.E. in the Queen's Birthday Honours. In returning thanks, Mr McCombs also expressed Council's congratulations to Mr C. Hilgendorf, a member of the University Grants Committee since 1961, who was made a Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George, and to Mr C.W. Mace, who was made a Commander of the British Empire in the Birthday Honours.

Professor George Jobberns, Professor H.J. Simpson and Messrs R.G. Pearce and R. Shepherd have retired from Council, which has placed on record its appreciation of their services to the University district.

Dr R.T.E. Baker, of Ashburton, has been elected a member of Council by the governing bodies of secondary schools in the University district.

Vol. 6
No. 5
August, 1971

## **ABOUT STAFF**

Dr A.G. Sutherland and Messrs J.S. Pollard and J.C. Thornton have been elected lecturers' representatives on the Professorial Board.

Dr I.A. Snook (Education) will attend the Philosophy of Education Conference Association of Australiasia annual conference in Adelaide at the end of this month.

Dr A.G. Williamson (Chemical Engineering) recently attended the second International Conference of Calorimetry and Thermodynamics in Orono, Maine. He was also an observer at the Commission 12 meeting of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry in Washington at the end of last month.

Professor A.D. Brownlie has been appointed by the Minister of Finance to the Consumers' Price Index Revision Advisory Committee, chaired by the Government Statistician, Mr. J.V. Lewin The Committee, which includes representatives from such organisations as the Consumer Council, Federation of Labour, Employers' Federation, Federated Farmers and Retailers' Federation, is to submit its report and recommendations early in September of this year.

In accepting with regret the retirement of Dr F. Mary Harding, senior lecturer in mathematics from the beginning of next year, Council expressed its appreciation of her work for the University. A graduate of the University, Dr Harding was awarded a Sir William Hartley Scholarship and took a Ph.D. at the University of Edinburgh. She joined the staff as warden of Helen Connon Hall and partime lecturer in mathematics and became a full-time lecturer in 1956.

The Vice-Chancellor said Dr Harding had borne the heavy burden of being in charge of Stage I Pure Mathematics with a roll of up to 800 students. She had been complimented by students in both the Faculties of Science and Engineering and Asian students had expressed their appreciation of the assistance she had readily given.

Mr D.J. Byers, senior lecturer in Electrical Engineering, is visiting Britain for 12 months, beginning in September, and will be engaged on research into the design and application of electronic integrated circuits at the Electrical Research Association, Leatherhead, Surrey.